Young Composer Award


The Young Composer Award is an annual competition based award issued by The Clarsach Society.

Composers aged between 16 & 25 years of age are invited to present an original piece of music lasting no longer than 15, and no less than 10 minutes, suitable for:
a) Solo Clarsach/Non-pedal harp
b) Clarsach/Non-pedal harp and up to 3 other instruments and/or voices

The award is £500 plus a premiere performance at the Edinburgh International Harp Festival.


How to apply

Apply Now

Alternatively, you can apply by post. Find out more by reading these guidelines. Application deadline: Wednesday 30th November 2016. Completed applications should be posted to:

Eleanor Marshall
The Clarsach Society,
Studio G43, Out of the Blue Drill Hall,
36 Dalmeny Street,
EH6 8RG.




Jessica Burton who won the 2015 Award received the Young Composer Award from Janette Bain, Vice Convener of the Clarsach Society, at the Edinburgh International Harp Festival in April. Jessica’s beautiful, contemporary piece was very inventive, moving deftly between time signatures, using the drums to great effect.  It is a piece that harpers can really get their teeth into – challenging and great fun.


Jessica Burton receiving the Young Composer Award

The Clarsach Society is most grateful to the Imlay Foundationwhose generous donation is supporting this Award.